Everything You Need To Know About WhatsApp’s Powerful Privacy Options

WhatsApp Security

WhatsApp is a very popular messaging app right now and it is being used all over the world. According to Statista,1.6 billion people are using the messaging platform every month. All those users are using one of the most reliable and private messaging apps on the planet.

Let’s hope that remains to be true and it remains a safe app to use. WhatsApp’s founders have left Facebook under bitter terms and Facebook’s future rebranding of WhatsApp, along with its plans to join it with the messaging platforms of Instagram and Facebook Messenger, WhatsApp is directed into an era of transformation. Mark Zuckerberg says that Facebook’s complete suite of services will become even more privacy-oriented and it will not be easier to get WhatsApp chat history of others.

That being said, in new conversations with longtime users, It is discovered that many WhatsApp users aren’t getting the peak privacy out of the app. That comes with protections that keep your WhatsApp activity to yourself and not even Facebook. Check out this guide to how to take advantage of all the privacy standards the messaging service offers.

 

Protect Your Privacy Online

WhatsApp shares information with our friends. It is a messaging platform, after all. However, by default WhatsApp is set to distribute more of your information with your friends and family and other users than you apparently realize.

When you create an account with WhatsApp you’re given the option to upload a profile picture and can change the default “Hey there! I’m using WhatsApp” About lines to add a more personal text which represents you or your mood. Many people change this to add their occupation, website, other social media accounts, and many other personalized details.

All these data are available to anyone who texts you on WhatsApp– or even people you don’t know. This could leave some users vulnerable to the world. For example, if you give your WhatsApp contact to a stranger you’ve just met on a dating app, that person could use such details of you to stalk you, especially if you’re About text lists where your workplace is and where you live.

That’s why you should always make sure the permissions rights for who can see your profile photo and About details are not set to “Everyone” and are preferably set to “Nobody” or only “My Contacts.” You can achieve this by going to the WhatApp’s settings and clicking on Account>Privacy>Profile Photo and Account>Privacy>About.

WhatsApp also gives a feature called “Status” that enables you to share a photo or text as a status update. By default, all of your WhatsApp contacts can check these status updates—be they your friends or a stranger you have in the contacts list.

So it’s a smart idea to be careful with who can see your status updates. In WhatsApp’s settings, head to the Account>Privacy>Status and modify it from “My Contacts” to “My Contacts Except” or “Only Share With.” The first option lets you eliminate certain people from seeing your status updates. The second one enables you to give only a select several of your contacts the capacity to see them. Generally, “Only Share With” is the more reliable option as it will automatically reject any new WhatsApp contacts you have added since you last changed these options.

Lastly, don’t let people stalk you via WhatsApp. This is easy for anyone to do if you keep the two options on their default settings. Under Account>Privacy the “Last Seen” option and change it to “Everyone” by default. This means anyone you contact via WhatsApp can see when you were last using the app and when. If you don’t feel like responding to friends’ messages at once—and wait hours or days to do so—they could see you’re ignoring them because they’ll see when you last time opened the app.

And talking of your friends being capable to tell when you’ve last used the Whatsapp, disable Read Receipts by going to Account>Privacy and turn off.

 

Keep Your Account Safe From Stalky Friends

Trust me, you want to make sure you use WhatsApp’s security settings, so no one can see your messages—even if they have a way to access your phone.

First, you’ll want to turn on two-step verification. You do this by going to the WhatsApp’s settings by going to Account>Two-Step Verification. With this turn on, you’ll need to enter a PIN when enrolling your phone number with WhatsApp again. This guarantees bad guys who have tricked your number won’t be able to log into your WhatsApp account via their phone and check all your messages without the PIN you created, so this is the safest option.

But, If you use an iPhone, then you should add an additional layer of biometric security to the WhatsApp. To do this, head to WhatsApp’s settings go to Account>Privacy>Screen Lock. In iOS, turn on the “Require Face ID” or “Require Touch ID” switch to ON and choose how soon you want to need this authentication for using the app again after closing it. Asking for this authentication to start the app again means you can securely let friends use your phone knowing that they can’t open WhatsApp and read all your messages.

 

Loading...

Your Comments / What Do You Think ?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.