Oscars 2014: Full list of Oscar winners

Ellen DeGeneres  oscars picture

The 2014 Oscars were handed out on Oscar Sunday, March 2 and televised LIVE on the ABC Network in the United States, as well as in more than 225 countries worldwide, from the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles.

Ellen DeGeneres hosted the event for the second time. Check out a full list of 2014 Oscar winners below.

Nominated movies include “Gravity” and “12 Years A Slave,” while nominated actors include Matthew McConaughey, Jared Leto, Lupita Nyong’o, Sandra Bullock and Cate Blanchett.

Twelve Years a Slave

Best Picture
“12 Years A Slave” – WINNER
American Hustle
Dallas Buyers Club
Captain Phillips
The Wolf of Wall Street


Actor in a Leading Role
Matthew McConaughey – “Dallas Buyers Club” – WINNER
Bruce Dern – “Nebraska”
Chiwetel Ejiofor – “12 Years A Slave”
Christian Bale – “American Hustle”
Leonardo DiCaprio – “The Wolf of Wall Street”


Actor in a Supporting Role
Jared Leto – “Dallas Buyers Club” – WINNER
Barkhad Abdi – “Captain Phillips”
Michael Fassbender – “12 Years A Slave”
Bradley Cooper – “American Hustle”
Jonah Hill – “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Cate Blanchett

Actress in a Leading Role
Cate Blanchett – “Blue Jasmine” – WINNER
Sandra Bullock – “Gravity”
Judi Dench – “Philomena”
Meryl Streep – “August: Osage County”
Amy Adams – “American Hustle”

Lupita Nyong'o

Actress in a Supporting Role
Lupita Nyong’o – “12 Years A Slave” – WINNER 
Sally Hawkins – “Blue Jasmine”
Jennifer Lawrence – “American Hustle”
Julia Roberts – “August: Osage County”
June Squibb – “Nebraska”

Frozen Poster

Animated Feature Film
“Frozen” – WINNER
“The Croods”
“Despicable Me 2”
“The Wind Rises”
“Ernest & Celestine”

gravity banner

“Gravity” – WINNER
“The Grandmaster”
“Inside Llewyn Davis”


Costume Design
“The Great Gatsby” – WINNER
“American Hustle”
“The Grandmaster”
“The Invisible Woman”
“12 Years a Slave”

Alfonso Cuaron

Alfonso Cuaron – “Gravity” – WINNER
Steve McQueen – “12 Years A Slave”
Alexander Payne – “Nebraska”
David O. Russell – “American Hustle”
Martin Scorsese – “The Wolf of Wall Street”

20 Feet from Stardom

Documentary (Feature)
“20 Feet from Stardom” – WINNER 
“The Act of Killing”
“Cutie and the Boxer”
“Dirty Wars”
“The Square”

The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life

Documentary (Short Subject)
“The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life” – WINNER 
“Facing Fear”
“Karama Has No Walls”
“Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall”


Film Editing
“Gravity” – WINNER
“American Hustle”
“Captain Phillips”
“Dallas Buyers Club”
“12 Years a Slave”

The Great Beauty

Foreign Language Film
“The Great Beauty” – WINNER – Italy
“The Broken Circle Breakdown” – Belgium
“The Hunt” – Denmark
“The Missing Picture” – Cambodia
“Omar” – Palestine

Film Review Dallas Buyers Club

Makeup and Hairstyling
“Dallas Buyers Club” – WINNER
“Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa”
“The Lone Ranger”


Music (Original Score)
“Gravity” Steven Price – WINNER
“The Book Thief” – John Williams
“Her” – William Butler and Owen Pallett
“Philomena” – Alexandre Desplat
“Saving Mr. Banks” – Thomas Newman

disneys frozen

Music (Original Song)
“Let it Go” – “Frozen” – Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez – WINNER 
“Ordinary Love” – “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom” – U2, lyrics by Paul Hewson, aka Bono
“Happy” – “Despicable Me 2” – Pharrell Williams
“The Moon Song” – “Her” – music by Karen O, lyrics by Karen O and Spike Jonze
Nomination recinded: The song “Alone Yet Not Alone” from “Alone Yet Not Alone” was originally nominated for later removed from the list it was discovered that musician Bruce Broughton emailed members of the group’s music branch to make them aware of the submission during the nominations voting period, a move Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs, Academy President said “creates the appearance of an unfair advantage.”


Production design
“The Great Gatsby” – WINNER
“American Hustle”
“12 Years a Slave”


Short Film (Animated)
“Mr. Hublot” – WINNER
“Get a Horse!”
“Room on the Broom”


Short Film (Live Action)
“Helium” – WINNER 
“Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)”
“Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just before Losing Everything)”
“Pitaako Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)”
“The Voorman Problem”


Sound Editing:
“Gravity” – WINNER 
“All Is Lost”
“Captain Phillips”
“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
“Lone Survivor”


Sound Mixing:
“Gravity” – WINNER
“Captain Phillips”
“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
“Inside Llewyn Davis”
“Lone Survivor”


Visual Effects
“Gravity” – WINNER
“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
“Iron Man 3”
“The Lone Ranger”
“Star Trek Into Darkness”

Twelve Years a Slave

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)
“12 Years A Slave” – John Ridley – WINNER
“Before Midnight” – Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke
“Captain Phillips” – Billy Ray
“Philomena” – Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope
“The Wolf of Wall Street” – Terence Winter

Her movie

Writing (Original Screenplay)
“Her” – Spike Jonze – WINNER 
“American Hustle” – Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell
“Blue Jasmine” – Woody Allen
“Nebraska” – Bob Nelson
“Dallas Buyers Club” – Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack

Your Comments / What Do You Think ?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.