Palau Banta, Indonesia

Palau Banta, Indonesia

Island of Palau Banta, located in the Lesser Sunda Islands of Indonesia. The Lesser Sunda Islands or Nusa Tenggara are a group of islands in Maritime Southeast Asia, north of Australia.

Komodo National Park is located within the Lesser Sunda Islands in the border region between the provinces of East Nusa Tenggara and West Nusa Tenggara. The park includes the three larger islands Komodo, Padar and Rinca, and 26 smaller ones (including Palau Banta), with a total area of 1,733 km² (603 km² of it land). The national park was founded in 1980 to protect the Komodo dragon, the world’s largest lizard. In 1991 the national park was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site. [source]

Photograph by Jialiang Gao |

Your Comments / What Do You Think ?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.