The Witcher’s Confusing Timelines, Explained


THE WITCHER started off this week, but as things proceeded each episode, it became clear the show was all messed up with the timelines of the stories. Here’s what you need to know about what is going on in Cintra.

THE WITCHER story also introduced Princess Cirilla – better known as Ciri.

After Ciri escapes the destroyed city, fans then follow her throughout the series trying to find Geralt, until the last episode of the season.

But episode four – Of Banquets, B******s and Burials – introduced the Law of Surprise, and the truth that Geralt had got a child from it: Ciri.

Thus explaining to the viewers that many timelines are being shown over season one, telling the story out of order.

The first season of The Witcher starts on three different timelines for each of the characters, and here is the ultimate break down of each one.


Timeline One: Ciri in the present.

Viewers see the beginning of Ciri’s journey back to Geralt at the end of episode one after she escapes the clutches of Nilfgaard.

Over the eight episodes, she dives through a number of trials and tribulations; including working with an elf, and dealing with a fake Mousesack (Adam Levy).

In the last episode, she eventually finds her way to Geralt to begin the rest of her life with him.


Timeline Two: Geralt in the past.

Geralt’s storyline jumps all over the place and mostly sees him on random days performing job as a Witcher.

The first episode set in Blaviken may be the start of his journey in the show chronologically.

Shortly after this, Geralt meets Jaskier, of whom he talks the vicious name: The Butcher of Blaviken.

Episode four, however, sees Geralt enact the law of surprise and get rights to Ciri.

Episodes six and seven references this much more clearly, as Geralt talks the “Surprise Child” with Yennefer (Anya Chalotra).

The final episode of the season sees Geralt and Ciri’s timelines finally catch up, bringing them together in the forest whilst escaping from the Nilfgaardians.


Timeline Three: Yennefer’s story.

Yennefer’s story is more-or-less in chronological order – but she have some time jumps as well.

After being introduced to Yennefer in episode two of the series, fans see her journey into becoming a mighty sorceress.

Following her possession by Tissaia de Vries (MyAnna Buring), Yennefer starts learning the ways of magic.

Through a number of assumed time jumps, Yennefer’s skills and power grow over the weeks and months she is studying about how to create chaos.


After changing her body and leaving the Chapter of Sorcerers, Yennefer starts on a journey to protect some high-priority officials and royals.

As an immortal, Yennefer does not age, and will never find herself looking any different – unless through physical means like being hit by a blade.

This allows her to drift through the story in season one, and slam into Geralt a number of times on his route through the Continent.

Check out every creature from Witcher season one below:

Every Creature in The Witcher from Season 1, an infographic

You can head to polski gry hazardowe for some fun and refresh your mind from all the confusing Witcher timeline.

Your Comments / What Do You Think ?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.